Local Hospitals

Hospitals in London

The Division of Emergency Medicine at the London Health Sciences Centre presently operates three emergency departments 24 hours a day in addition to 8 hours of Urgent Care coverage 7 days a week. All sites are staffed by full time emergency physicians, with an average of over ten years experience. All members of the department have faculty appointments at the University of Western Ontario and specialty qualifications in Emergency Medicine.

The department is the major training site for residency programs in Emergency Medicine under the auspices of both the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada, and the Canadian College of Family Physicians. In addition, first year postgraduate trainees in all disciplines rotate through the emergency departments. Postgraduate year 2 trainees in Family Medicine also spend time in the emergency departments. Active teaching programs are ongoing for all of these postgraduate trainees, as well as undergraduate medical students at the University of Western Ontario.

As of June 12th, 2005 London Health Sciences Division of Emergency Medicine is now located on 3 sites - Victoria & University Hospitals of the London Health Sciences Centre and the Urgent Care Centre at St. Josesph's Hospital. In addition there is also the Children's Hospital Emergency Department, which operates at the Victoria Hospital.